Fulton County Commission chairman joins race for Atlanta mayor

Fulton County Commission Chairman John EavesFulton County Commission Chairman John Eaves addresses the BBA in 2015.

Fulton County Commission Chairman John Eaves is joining a crowded field of candidates vying for mayor in this year’s non-partisan race, according to published reports.

More than a dozen candidates, including five members of the current city council are vying for the post.

So far, the field includes:

  • Former Atlanta COO Peter Aman
  • Al Bartell
  • Animator Alex Barrella
  • City Councilwoman Keisha Lance Bottoms
  • Fulton County Commission Chairman John Eaves
  • State Sen. Vincent Fort, D-Atlanta
  • City Councilman Kwanza Hall
  • Debra Ann Hampton
  • Atlanta City Council President Ceasar Mitchell
  • City Councilwoman Mary Norwood
  • Kimberley Johnson Obasuyi
  • City Councilman Robb Pitts
  • Former Atlanta Workforce Development Agency Director Michael Sterling
  • Former Atlanta City Council President Cathy Woolard
  • Civil Rights Activist Tommy Youngblood Jr.

The election will be held on Nov. 7. An almost certain runoff would follow on Dec. 5.

The winner replaces Mayor Kasim Reed.

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.