Deal issues mandatory evacuation for parts of six coastal counties

Nathan DealGeorgia Gov. Nathan Deal speaks to the Atlanta Press Club in April 2015. (Photo by Todd DeFeo/The DeFeo Groupe)

Gov. Nathan Deal today issued a mandatory evacuation east of Interstate 95 for six coastal counties.

Deal ordered the evacuation based on a recommendation from the state’s Emergency Operations Command in anticipation of Hurricane Matthew.

A voluntary evacuation request, issued yesterday, remains in effect for residents west of I-95 in those counties. The six coastal counties are Bryan, Chatham, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden.

“The National Hurricane Center predicts Hurricane Matthew will intensify as it moves from the Bahamas up the Florida Coast,” Deal said in a statement. “As a result, I am now ordering a mandatory evacuation for areas east of Interstate-95.

“I also encourage the voluntary evacuation of residents in low-lying, coastal areas west of I-95. Shelters are opening now in these areas,” Deal added. “To assist Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMHSA) Director Jim Butterworth in coordinating and implementing traffic flow preparations, I’ve activated 45 members of the Georgia National Guard. They will assist state and local public safety and transportation officials. I urge Georgians in the affected areas to remain calm, be prepared and make informed, responsible decisions as we continue to monitor Hurricane Matthew’s path.”

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.