New Republican leaders elected in state Senate

Republicans in the state Senate have selected a number of new leaders in advance of the 2011 General Assembly.

Sen. Tommie Williams, R-Lyons, was nominated for president pro tempore, and Sen. Chip Rogers, R-Woodstock, will continue to serve as majority leader. The full Senate will vote Jan. 11 whether to confirm Williams’ appointment.

State Sen. Cecil Staton, R-Macon, will serve as the Senate Majority Whip.

“Georgians spoke loud and clear last week that strong, conservative leadership is what they believe will bring the long-term economic recovery and permanent jobs our state desperately needs,” Staton said in a news release. “The Senate leaders are committed to the bedrock principles of lower taxes, smaller government, and a strong private sector that will lead us to better days.”

Sen. Bill Cowsert, R- Athens was elected to the positions of majority caucus chair, Sen. David Shafer, R- Duluth, was elected as majority caucus vice-chair and Sen. Greg Goggans, R- Douglas, was elected to serve as majority caucus secretary.

“To create jobs and grow our economy, Georgia needs elected leaders who are steadfast in their conservative values and beliefs,” Goggans said in a news release.

“I wholeheartedly believe the Senate leadership team is committed to a fiscally-responsible government, keeping taxes low, cutting waste and empowering the private sector to create the long-term prosperity we desperately need right now,” Goggans added. “I look forward to working closely with all members of the General Assembly and our new governor to ensure Georgia is on the right path to success.”

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.