Atlanta Press Club to induct four into Hall of Fame

Atlanta Press Club Hall of Fame Inductees (Courtesy Atlanta Press Club)

The Atlanta Press Club will induct four journalists into its Hall of Fame during a ceremony next month.

Inductees are:

  • Doug Blackmon, former Wall Street Journal Atlanta bureau chief and 2009 Pulitzer Prize winner for General Nonfiction for Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II. Former acting attorney general Sally Yates will introduce Blackmon.
  • Fred Kalil, sports director at CBS46.Atlanta Falcons’ President and CEO Rich McKay will introduce Kalil.
  • Aubrey Morris (1922-2010), WSB Radio’s first news director. WSB Radio host of Atlanta’s Morning News Scott Slade will introduce Morris.
  • Cynthia Tucker, former editorial page editor for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and winner of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize for Commentary. Veteran WSB-TV anchor Monica Pearson will introduce Tucker.

CNN anchor Christi Paul will emcee the Oct. 10 event. The Hall of Fame was established in 2011, and previous inductees include Ted Turner, Tom Brokaw, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Henry W. Grady, Ralph McGill and Monica Pearson.

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.