Coastal Carolina joining Sun Belt in 2016

Coastal Carolina University will join the Sun Belt Conference effective July 1, 2016, President David A. DeCenzo announced today.

The Chanticleers will be the 12th member of the Sun Belt Conference, joining Appalachian State University, Georgia State University, Georgia Southern University, Troy University, University of South Alabama, Arkansas State University, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, University of Louisiana at Monroe, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, University of Texas at Arlington and Texas State University.

The Sun Belt Conference, headquartered in New Orleans, La., was established in 1976 and began sponsoring football in 2001 as a member of the FBS. In addition to football, the Sun Belt Conference sponsors baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, men’s golf, women’s golf, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s indoor track & field, women’s track & field, men’s outdoor track & field, women’s outdoor track & field, men’s tennis, women’s tennis and women’s volleyball.

“This is a historic moment for all Chanticleers,”CCU Chairman of the Board Wyatt Henderson said in a statement. “The Sun Belt’s invitation is perfect timing and matches very well with the trajectory of our University. CCU will join a distinct group of peer institutions experiencing similar growth and success both on and off the field. We will be aligned with the nation’s top institutions.”

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.