Atlanta Press Club inducts five into Hall of Fame

ATLANTA — The Atlanta Press Club on Tuesday inducted five new members into its Hall of Fame during its third annual induction ceremony.

The most recent class includes Ed Baker, the long-time publisher of Atlanta Business Chronicle; Monica Pearson, the first minority and first female to anchor an evening newscast in Atlanta; Dale Russell, the senior investigative reporter for WAGA-TV; Bill Shipp, a long-time and well-respected political commentator; and Margaret Mitchell, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and reporter perhaps best known for writing Gone with the Wind.

The Press Club recognizes journalists, either retired or active, for their lifetime achievements and whose careers are held up for their journalistic integrity.

Previous inductees include a slew of famous Atlanta journalists, including Xernona Clayton, the founder of the Trumpet Awards; Ralph McGill, the Pulitzer Prize-winning editor for the Atlanta Constitution who advocated racial tolerance in the South during the 1950s and 1960s; Ted Turner, the founder of CNN; and Henry Grady, the editor of The Atlanta Constitution in the 1880s and a legendary Southern journalist.

For more information, visit

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.