Ga. House Republicans elect new leaders

State Rep. David Ralston, R-Blue Ridge, has been nominated by the Georgia House Republican Caucus to again serve as Speaker of the House during the 2011 Georgia General Assembly.

“I am both honored and humbled to receive such overwhelming support from the House Republican Caucus to continue serving as Speaker of the House,” Ralston said in a statement.

“I am fortunate to serve alongside so many quality men and women who selflessly give of their time and efforts to make Georgia a better state,” Ralston added. “Over the next few weeks, we will continue preparing to take on the tough issues that await us when the General Assembly convenes in January.”

In addition, the House Republican Caucus nominated Rep. Jan Jones, R-Alpharetta, to continue serving as speaker pro tempore. The full House must vote on the nominations of Ralston and Jones.

In other action:

  • Rep. Larry O’Neal, R-Bonaire, was elected House Majority Leader, replacing Rep. Jerry Keen, R-St. Simons, who did not seek re-election
  • Rep. Edward Lindsey, R-Atlanta, was re-elected majority whip
  • Rep. Donna Sheldon, R-Dacula) was re-elected caucus chair
  • Rep. Allen Peake, R-Macon, was re-elected caucus treasurer/secretary
  • Rep. Matt Ramsey, R-Peachtree City, was elected caucus vice-chair, replacing Rep. Jeff May, R-Monroe

“Georgia continues to face challenges as a result of our economy, and I look forward to working with the House leadership team as we set and advance a common sense, conservative agenda focused on jobs creation and fiscal responsibility,” Ramsey said in a statement.

About the author

Express Telegraph

Express-Telegraph is a news outlet for the 21st century. Based in Metro Atlanta, the outlet focuses on news, politics and sports centered on The Peach State. Get on board the Express.